Consider Me Dated

I’m divorced.  It’s been final for about four months now.  Although the path leading up to it has taken almost two years, the actual legal process was very short.  I likely won’t tell the story here.  Only because it’s just done and over with and no longer something I want to keep carrying around like a big carcass that I can’t put down.  My close and even not-so-close friends know the vivid details anyway; why bore you with it all again?  Let’s face it, you are the only ones reading this blog.  And frankly, it doesn’t quite fit into my “moving on” plans.

Post-divorce, I’ve struggled with throwing myself into work, parenting, resurrecting friends I haven’t seen in ages.  Thinking about dating has taken up a little time, but mostly I have been in a place of focusing on healing, licking my wounds and resigning myself to being alone for a long period of time.  Waiting for what, I don’t know.  Stability?  A lightning bolt?  A sign?  A prince on a white horse?  Not likely to all of the above.

However, I did manage to have approximately 2.5 dates, some kissing, some calling and texting, a whole lot of thinking, a bunch of days of no calling and texting and thus more thinking.

This made me decide that it might be fun to chronicle my dating experiences as a 40-year-old-divorced-mother-of-two-children-under-the-age-of-five.  Why the hell not?  I don’t have anything to lose, right?  Except maybe some future dates.

I apologize in advance to the men who will be featured here.  I will try to protect the names of those involved.  Please don’t hate me for doing this.  You know who you are.  My dearest friends know who you are.  So it hopefully will only be mildly embarrassing, and perhaps flattering.  My intention is really just to make fun of myself and my crazy life.  Your role in this is merely as a minor participant and in some cases, a bystander.

Also, I apologize to my ex.  He may be referenced here to get a point across, but hopefully he’ll take it with a grain of salt.  I imagine if he ever gets wind of this, he will likely just be thanking his lucky stars that we are now divorced.  Let me also say that the re-telling of the dates is from MY perspective.  So when I say things were beautiful, dreamy, heart-pounding, that was just me.  I have no idea where my date’s head was.  I’d like to think it was doing the same stuff, but let’s not take liberties here.  Read, laugh (hopefully) and enjoy.  Or at the very least, use this blog to help your Ambien kick in.

Leave a Reply

