Letters from Iwo Jammin’!

Letters from Iwo Jima: WAY better than that other thing. Here’s why:

  1. I ate a regular, normal meal of whole wheat pasta with turkey meatballs prior to movie-watching and therefore wasn’t miserably preoccupied with my swollen trunk.
  2. I am happy to report there was no DVD skipping. (A big shout-out to Netflix for that one!) Maybe people were so bummed out by the first one, they didn’t bother renting the second one to use as a coaster, to jack up their car, or to scoop kitty litter, etc.
  3. I could read the movie instead of listening to a bunch of American craptastic actors mumble their way through gunfire. (BTW, my parents said they couldn’t get through this movie because they “got tired of reading.” Yep, that came from the biggest war-movie fanatic and his wife. Then again, I would be tired of reading too if I had just killed off a bottle of wine or two prior to firing up the DVD. A couple of weeks ago, they were disappointed that Click with Adam Sandler was so bad. What can you do? They’re old and they like to drink.)
  4. The acting was outstanding. And, can anyone say Ken “Whatahottie” Watanabe?
  5. The story and tension built ever so gracefully. Who didn’t love that little baker and rooted for him the whole time? I just wanted to put him in my pocket and take him home and give him some water and have him bake me stuff. Oh, and in my other pocket would be his adorable wife and baby daughter. Oh, and that horse and the dog from the flashback too. Just because that would be sad if I didn’t include them.

Maybe my expectations were low after that first disaster of a movie. But so what. I had a lump in my throat at the end.

One thought on “Letters from Iwo Jammin’!

Leave a Reply

